(Comparison)

A Clerk auth alternative that keeps user data in France

Prices checked 15 Oct 2026. Where they are ahead, the tables say so.

Verdict

Pick Clerk if your app is React, Next.js or Expo and you want sign-in screens that exist on day one: its prebuilt components are well ahead of anything we have, because we have none. Pick it if you want 50,000 retained users free, enterprise single sign-on, a SOC 2 Type 2 report (Clerk states it has held one since May 2022, available on the Business plan and above), and a public DPA you can read without asking. If your users' data does not need to sit in the EU, it is a very good product.

Pick Nautilus if the stored data has to be on servers in France (the emails we send go through Resend, a US provider): Clerk states that it does not offer regional data residency or region selection and that EU personal data is transferred to US infrastructure under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework. Pick us if you want your own screens and a plain HTTP API behind them; if you want fully custom roles without a $100-a-month add-on; if you want unused accounts deleted for you after a warning; or if your customers sign in with Telegram.

If you are a small team with a Next.js app and no residency requirement, Clerk is probably the faster way to ship and the cheaper one. We say so because it is true.

Feature by feature

Checked 2026-10-15. "Ahead" says who is ahead on that row.

Nautilus and Clerk, feature by feature
RowNautilusClerkAhead
Sign-in methodsPassword, a six-digit email code (off until switched on), ten social providers, Telegram through a separate key. No hosted login page, no passkeys, no SMS codes.Social sign-on, email and SMS, magic links, per its homepage. Passkeys are not mentioned on the pages we read.Them
Prebuilt interfaceNone. Headless: you draw the screens.Prebuilt components (the homepage names UserButton and UserProfile) and SDKs for Next.js, React, Expo, React Router, TanStack Start and Astro.Them
Social providersTen, no Apple.Up to 3 social connections on Hobby, unlimited on Pro and Business; a custom OIDC provider can be added. The count of built-in providers is not stated on the pages we read.Not compared
Two-factorAuthenticator-app codes and backup codes, per account; enforced at the gateway. No SMS, no hardware keys.Available on Pro and Business, not on Hobby. The pricing page does not list the methods.Not compared
Organizations and rolesCustom named roles with permissions, one role per organization, a permission check as one API call. API only; no dashboard screen for members yet. All plans.Organizations come with the plans: 100 monthly retained organizations per app, up to 20 members each, Admin and Member roles, custom permissions, invitations, plus UI components. Custom roles and role sets, unlimited members and auto-join need the Enhanced B2B add-on at $100 a month.Even
Audit logDashboard and API: key and role changes, settings, your users' sign-ins and password changes. 7 / 30 / 90 days.Application logs kept 1 day on Hobby, 7 on Pro, 30 on Business. An audit trail of workspace admin actions is on Business only, 30 days.Different
Automatic deletion of inactive accountsFour rules with a warning email before any deletion; inactivity 1 to 120 months on Pro and above.None found in the pricing page or the docs we read.Us
Signed JWTES256, 15 minutes, per-tenant key set. Lists all the user's organizations (first 10) with role and permissions. Cannot be revoked.Session tokens are signed JWTs with a lifetime set in the dashboard. The current version carries the active organization only (id, slug, role, permissions).Different
WebhooksSix sign-in events, signed and retried through Svix; plus webhooks you send to your own customers.Yes. Clerk's docs say it uses Svix; delivery is at least once, retried until your endpoint answers 2xx.Even (same engine)
Scheduled jobsRecurring and one-off HTTP jobs, retried, with a run history. Schedules run in any IANA timezone, daylight saving handled.Not offered.Us
Telegram sign-inYes, through your own bot.No built-in provider found; a custom OIDC provider can be configured.Us
Hosting regionFrance (OVHcloud). One region.United States. Clerk states it offers no regional data residency or region selection.Us, if the stored data must be in France (outgoing email goes through Resend, in the US)
DPAWith Pro (Standard Contractual Clauses).Public DPA and Data Privacy Framework notice on its legal pages; EU and UK representative named in its GDPR notice.Them
Security reportsNone. No SOC 2, no ISO 27001.SOC 2 Type 2, which Clerk states it has held since May 2022; the report is available on Business and above.Them
Enterprise SSO (SAML)None.One connection included on Pro and Business; $75 a month for each of the 2nd to the 15th.Them
SDKsNode, Python, PHP, Rust.SDKs for most web and mobile frameworks, per its homepage.Them
Free tier1,000 active users a month.50,000 monthly retained users per app on Hobby.Them

Prices

Source: https://clerk.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-15 (and https://clerk.com/pricing.md the same day). Clerk bills monthly retained users: a user who visits your app at least one day after signing up, so someone who signs up and never returns is never billed. That is a narrower unit than our active user, so for the same people Clerk may count fewer. Every plan includes 50,000 retained users per app. Above that, $0.02 each from 50,001 to 100,000, $0.018 from 100,001 to 1,000,000. Annual billing is cheaper: $20 a month for Pro, $250 for Business, $85 for the add-on.

Monthly price by number of monthly users, Nautilus and Clerk
Monthly usersNautilusClerk HobbyClerk ProPro + Enhanced B2B ($100)Clerk Business
1,000Free, €0$0$25$125$300
10,000Pro, €99 (≈ $110.83)$0$25$125$300
50,000Advanced, €199 (≈ $222.78)$0$25$125$300

How to read it

  • Hobby is free but has no two-factor and up to 3 social connections. Pro adds two-factor and unlimited social connections. Custom roles are the $100 add-on.
  • Business adds, among other things, the SOC 2 report, the admin audit trail and 10 dashboard seats ($20 for each extra seat).
  • Enterprise is custom and billed annually. Single sign-on connections beyond the first are $75 each.
  • At 10,000 and 50,000 users, with custom roles, Clerk is $125 against our $110.83. That is $14 a month apart. It is not a reason to move on its own.

Data residency and EU hosting

  • Clerk (checked 2026-10-15, https://clerk.com/security): the security page says Clerk does not offer regional data residency or region selection, that its infrastructure and subprocessors are in the USA, and that EU, UK and Swiss personal data is transferred under the Data Privacy Framework, which Clerk is self-certified under. The DPA and a DPF notice are public. Clerk says its audited platform controls are the same on every plan.
  • Nautilus: the API, the databases and the engines run on our own servers in France, at OVHcloud, one region, no choice. That is where it runs, not a compliance badge. A DPA based on the Standard Contractual Clauses comes with Pro.
  • Verne Software is registered in Serbia; the servers are in France.
  • Where the servers are does not settle your obligations; your lawyer's view of the provider's own jurisdiction is a separate question we do not answer for you.

If you leave us

  • What is open: Ory Kratos (sign-in) and Svix (webhooks) are open source; you can run them yourself. The webhook layer is the same engine Clerk uses.
  • What is ours: projects, keys, organizations and roles, deletion rules, the audit log, the dashboard, and the scheduler, which is our own code.
  • Users: readable through the API. For all of them with their password hashes, ask support from your account address and you get one file within 7 days, encrypted to your own key, with social links, metadata, organizations and roles as well. It is in the format our own import accepts and that maps onto Ory Kratos (how it works). A person on our side runs it; there is no button and no API call for it.
  • Clerk's pull is mostly in the components: if you build on its prebuilt UI, you rebuild the screens on leaving. Ours is the opposite. You build the screens, and they are yours.

The cost stack

Scenario: 10,000 active users; custom roles, organizations and two-factor. The line that decides is sign-in against sign-in. Prices as of 2026-10-15.

Monthly cost of sign-in and users for the scenario, Clerk against Nautilus
PieceSourceCost
Clerk Pro, up to 50,000 retained usershttps://clerk.com/pricing$25
Clerk Enhanced B2B Authentication (custom roles)https://clerk.com/pricing$100
Clerk, sign-in and users ($25 + $100)$125
Nautilus Pro, sign-in and users (10,000 active users, custom roles, organizations, two-factor, audit log)https://vernesoft.com/pricing€99 (≈ $110.83)

Not in the sum: webhooks you send to your own customers and scheduled jobs. Clerk's own webhooks (it uses Svix) cover Clerk's events only. Nautilus Pro includes both (1,000,000 webhook messages and 1,000 recurring jobs a month). Elsewhere they are services of their own: for example Svix Professional (DPA and SOC 2, 50,000 messages included) from $490 a month, and a scheduler such as cron-job.org, which is free, donation-funded, and does not state where it is hosted or whether it has a DPA. We leave them out of the sum because the comparison that decides is sign-in against sign-in. At 1,000,000 webhook messages, Svix Professional bills $490 plus 950,000 extra messages at $0.0001, which is $585.

What the arithmetic does and does not show

  • If you only need sign-in for a few thousand users, Clerk Hobby at $0 or Pro at $25 beats any plan of ours. We come out ahead only when you also want custom roles, and by more if you would otherwise add a webhook service with a DPA and a scheduler.
  • The gap between Clerk with custom roles ($125) and ours ($110.83) is small. What you are choosing between is mostly where the data lives and which screens you want to write.
  • Taken one by one, the free tiers are cheaper than we are: Clerk Hobby, Svix Free and cron-job.org are $0 each.

Try it yourself

Want to see the roles before you decide? The signed-token page shows exactly what your database policy receives.

Sources and dates

Every competitor figure above comes from a page listed here, read on . Prices move: if one differs when you look, the date is the reason, and we would like to hear about it.

Sources for this page and the date each was checked
URLWhat was takenChecked
https://clerk.com/pricing and https://clerk.com/pricing.mdPlan prices; 50,000 retained users per plan; overage tiers; Enhanced B2B at $100; MFA by plan; SSO connection prices; logs retention; organization limits; definition of a retained user2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/security (fetched as .md)No regional data residency or region selection; US hosting; Data Privacy Framework; public DPA; SOC 2 Type 2 since May 2022, report on Business and above2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/docs/guides/development/webhooks/overviewWebhooks use Svix; at-least-once delivery; retries until 2xx2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/docs/guides/sessions/session-tokensSession tokens are JWTs; version 2 carries the active organization only2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/legal/gdprEU and UK representative named (from a search result; not fetched directly)2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/Components named, frameworks, organizations features, enterprise SSO2026-10-15
https://clerk.com/docs/guides/configure/auth-strategies/social-connections/custom-providerA custom OIDC provider can be added (from a search result; not fetched directly)2026-10-15
https://www.svix.com/pricing/Free and Professional tiers; overage $0.0001 a message2026-10-15
https://cron-job.org/en/Free, donation-funded2026-10-15
https://www.ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchange_rates/html/eurofxref-graph-usd.en.htmlEUR to USD 1.1195 (reference rate of 2026-10-14)2026-10-15
https://vernesoft.com/pricing and the sign-in documentationEverything said about Nautilus2026-10-15