(Comparison)
An EU-hosted Auth0 alternative, with the gaps stated
Prices checked 15 Oct 2026. Where they are ahead, the tables say so.
Verdict
Pick Auth0 if your customers' IT departments ask for SAML or SCIM; you want a login page you can theme without writing screens; you need a wide choice of second factors (push, SMS, voice, hardware keys); you want a tenant in Australia, Canada, Japan, the UK or the US; or you want the name your customers' security teams already know. Up to 25,000 monthly users are free on their pricing page, which is more than our 1,000.
Pick Nautilus if you build a SaaS for European customers and want their data on servers in France; you want organizations, roles, two-factor and an audit log without a four-figure monthly bill; you want unused accounts deleted for you after a warning; and you are happy to draw your own login screens. We also send webhooks and run scheduled jobs under the same account, which Auth0 does not sell.
If you only need password and social login for a few thousand users, Auth0's free plan is a fair choice and we are not cheaper than it.
Feature by feature
Sources for the Auth0 column are in the table at the end. Checked 2026-10-15. "Ahead" says who is ahead on that row.
| Row | Nautilus | Auth0 | Ahead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sign-in methods | Password, a six-digit email code (off until you switch it on), ten social providers, and Telegram through a separate key. No hosted login page, no passkeys, no SMS codes. | Password, passwordless, social and enterprise connections, with Universal Login as a hosted page. Passkeys appear on its homepage as a developer playground. | Them |
| Social providers | Ten: GitHub, Google, GitLab, Microsoft, Discord, Facebook, LinkedIn, Slack, Twitch, Spotify. No Apple. | Unlimited social connections on the Free plan, "subject to system limitations". The size of the catalogue is not stated on the pricing page. | Not compared |
| Two-factor | Authenticator-app codes (TOTP) and backup codes, switched on per account; the gateway refuses a session that skipped the second step. No SMS, no hardware keys. | Push (Guardian app), SMS, voice, authenticator codes, hardware keys and device biometrics, email, Duo, recovery codes. Which factors you get depends on the plan; the Free plan lists the Pro and Enterprise factors as not available. | Them |
| Organizations and roles | Organizations; named roles with permissions; one role per organization, a different one in each; a permission check as one API call. API only: the dashboard has no screen for members yet. All plans. | Organizations: 5 on Free, 10 on the B2C paid plans, unlimited on B2B Essentials and Professional. Role management (RBAC) is listed from Essentials. | Even |
| Audit log | Dashboard and API: key and role changes, settings, and your users' sign-ins and password changes, with address and user agent. 7 days on Free, 30 on Pro, 90 on Advanced. Failed sign-ins and Telegram sign-ins are not recorded. | Tenant logs kept 1 day on Free, 5 on Essentials, 10 on Professional, 30 on Enterprise; log streaming to 1 or 2 destinations on paid plans. | Different |
| Automatic deletion of inactive accounts | Four rules per project, each off until switched on, with a warning email before any deletion: unconfirmed accounts (all plans), a reminder to confirm, role deadlines, and accounts inactive for 1 to 120 months (Pro and above). | None built in. An Auth0 support article says there is no built-in means of automatically deleting inactive users and describes a script against the Management API. | Us |
| Signed JWT | ES256, valid 15 minutes, verified offline against a per-tenant key set. Carries the user's organizations with role and permissions (first 10). Cannot be revoked. Not an OAuth or OpenID provider. | A full OAuth 2.0 and OpenID provider; its tokens are signed JWTs verified with a key set. | Them |
| Webhooks | Six sign-in events, signed and retried through Svix; plus webhooks you send to your own customers (10,000 / 1,000,000 / 5,000,000 messages a month on Free / Pro / Advanced). | Events go out through log streams and Actions. We did not check for a signed, retried feed of end-user events. | Not compared |
| Scheduled jobs | Recurring and one-off HTTP jobs, retried, with a run history. Schedules run in any IANA timezone, daylight saving handled. | Not part of what Auth0 sells, as far as we found. | Us |
| Telegram sign-in | Yes, through your own bot. | No built-in connection found. A community request for one was open when we looked; a custom social connection is the likely route, untested. | Us |
| Hosting region | France (OVHcloud). One region, no choice. | Choice of Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan, the UK or the US when the tenant is created. | Them |
| DPA | A DPA based on the EU Standard Contractual Clauses, with Pro. | Auth0 and Okta publish a DPA through the Okta trust and compliance pages. Whether every plan can get it was not established. | Not compared |
| Enterprise SSO (SAML) | None. | Enterprise connections: 1 on Free, 3 on B2B Essentials, 5 on B2B Professional, $100 a month per extra connection. The B2C paid plans show it as not available, though the page is ambiguous on this. | Them |
| SDKs | Node, Python, PHP, Rust. | "30+" SDKs and quickstarts, per its homepage. | Them |
| Free tier | 1,000 active users a month. | Up to 25,000 monthly active users. | Them |
Prices
Source: https://auth0.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-15. Monthly base price at the selector step shown. The page bills annual plans at 11 times the monthly price. Above 30,000 users the selector shows no price (B2C Essentials stops at $2,100 for 30,000), and Enterprise at any size says "Contact us"; we did not see a calculator. Our column: https://vernesoft.com/pricing.
| Monthly users | Nautilus | Auth0 Free | B2C Essentials | B2C Professional | B2B Essentials | B2B Professional |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | Free, €0 | $0 | $70 | $240 | $300 | $800 |
| 10,000 | Pro, €99 (≈ $110.83) | $0 | $700 | $1,600 | $2,100 | $2,400 |
| 50,000 | Advanced, €199 (≈ $222.78) | not offered (limit 25,000) | not shown (the selector stops at 30,000, $2,100) | not shown | Contact us | Contact us |
How to read it
- Auth0 and we count different things: its monthly active users against our active users, each defined by its own vendor. Do not treat the rows as exact twins.
- The B2C plans cap organizations at 10. For a product organized around customer accounts, the B2B columns are the like-for-like ones for us.
- Free tiers: Auth0 gives up to 25,000 users, 5 organizations and one enterprise connection at $0. We give 1,000 users. If the Free plan covers what you need, it is the cheaper option.
Data residency and EU hosting
- Auth0 (checked 2026-10-15, https://auth0.com/docs/get-started/auth0-overview/create-tenants): a public-cloud tenant is created in one of Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan, the United Kingdom or the United States; the locality sets where the data is hosted. Within Europe the docs name two sub-localities, EU and EU-2, and say the sub-locality is assigned, not chosen. The docs we read do not say whether the region can be changed afterwards. A thread on Auth0's community forum, attributed there to Auth0 staff, names Frankfurt and Dublin; it is not in the official docs and we do not rely on it. Auth0 is part of Okta.
- Nautilus: the API, the databases and the engines run on our own servers in France, at OVHcloud. That is where they run, not a compliance badge. One region, no choice. A data processing agreement based on the Standard Contractual Clauses comes with Pro.
- Verne Software is registered in Serbia; the servers are in France.
- If you need your data in Australia, Japan or Canada, or in a named EU city, Auth0 is the one to look at.
If you leave us
Moving off Auth0 to us is one move. The fair question is whether we are a second one you cannot undo.
- What is open: sign-in runs on Ory Kratos and webhooks on Svix, both open source, so you can read how they work and run them yourself. That is the way out of the engine.
- What is ours and does not leave with you: the layer on top. Projects, API keys, organizations and roles, the deletion rules, the audit log, the dashboard. Our scheduler is our own code, not an open engine. Every job and run stays readable through the API, so you can recreate them elsewhere.
- Users: you can read and list your end users through the API. For all of them with their password hashes, ask support from your account address and you get one file within 7 days, encrypted to your own key, with social links, metadata, organizations and roles as well. It is in the format our own import accepts and that maps onto Ory Kratos (how it works). A person on our side runs it; there is no button and no API call for it. Auth0 also hands hashes over through a support case, on conditions of its own.
- Auth0 itself is a closed product. Open engines are the one thing we can offer that it cannot, and we do not claim the exit is free.
The cost stack
Here is the arithmetic, so you can check it, with the cases where it does not work. Scenario: 10,000 active users; organizations, roles and two-factor. The line that decides is sign-in against sign-in. Prices as of 2026-10-15.
| Piece | Source | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Auth0 B2B Essentials, 10,000 users | https://auth0.com/pricing | $2,100 |
| Auth0, sign-in and users | $2,100 | |
| Nautilus Pro, sign-in and users (10,000 active users, organizations, roles, two-factor, audit log) | https://vernesoft.com/pricing | €99 (≈ $110.83) |
Not in the sum: webhooks you send to your own customers and scheduled jobs. Nautilus Pro includes both (1,000,000 webhook messages and 1,000 recurring jobs a month). Elsewhere they are services of their own: for example Svix Professional (DPA and SOC 2, 50,000 messages included) from $490 a month, and a scheduler such as cron-job.org, which is free, donation-funded, and does not state where it is hosted or whether it has a DPA. We leave them out of the sum because the comparison that decides is sign-in against sign-in.
What the arithmetic does and does not show
- Against Auth0's B2B plans the difference is large, because those plans are priced for a different buyer. This is the one pairing where Nautilus is clearly cheaper.
- It is not a fair comparison with Auth0's Free plan, which covers 25,000 users at $0 but, on the pricing page, no Pro-level second factors and no role management. A product that needs none of that can run on Auth0 Free for $0, and the free tiers of a webhook service and a scheduler are $0 too. Taken one by one, the free tiers are cheaper than we are.
- The webhook and scheduler volumes are left out on purpose. The honest case for the other side is sign-in on its own, at a small volume.
Try it yourself
Create a free account (1,000 active users a month, no card), make a key for sign-in, and read the organizations and roles page before you decide.
Sources and dates
Every competitor figure above comes from a page listed here, read on . Prices move: if one differs when you look, the date is the reason, and we would like to hear about it.
| URL | What was taken | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| https://auth0.com/pricing | Plan prices at 1,000 / 10,000 / 50,000 users; Free limits; organizations, MFA, SSO and log-retention rows; "Contact us" above the table; annual billing at 11 times monthly | 2026-10-15 |
| https://auth0.com/docs/get-started/auth0-overview/create-tenants | Public-cloud localities and sub-localities | 2026-10-15 |
| https://community.auth0.com/t/customer-data-locations/104690 | Frankfurt and Dublin, from a community thread (not relied on) | 2026-10-15 |
| https://support.auth0.com/center/s/article/how-to-remove-inactive-users | No built-in means of automatically deleting inactive users | 2026-10-15 |
| https://support.auth0.com/center/s/article/DPA | The DPA covers Auth0 and Okta and is found in Okta's trust and compliance documentation | 2026-10-15 |
| https://auth0.com/docs/secure/multi-factor-authentication/multi-factor-authentication-factors | List of MFA factors; availability depends on plan | 2026-10-15 |
| https://auth0.com/ | Universal Login, enterprise connections, passwordless, passkeys playground, Actions, "30+" SDKs | 2026-10-15 |
| https://auth0.com/docs/secure/tokens/json-web-tokens | Auth0 tokens are signed JWTs | 2026-10-15 |
| https://community.auth0.com/t/add-a-social-connection-for-telegram/86229 | A request for a Telegram connection, open when checked | 2026-10-15 |
| https://www.svix.com/pricing/ | Free (50,000 messages), Professional from $490 (DPA, SOC 2) | 2026-10-15 |
| https://cron-job.org/en/ | Free, donation-funded, up to once per minute | 2026-10-15 |
| https://www.ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchange_rates/html/eurofxref-graph-usd.en.html | EUR to USD 1.1195 (reference rate of 2026-10-14) | 2026-10-15 |
| https://vernesoft.com/pricing and the sign-in documentation | Everything said about Nautilus | 2026-10-15 |
Other comparisonsClerk alternativeOry Network alternativeLogto alternative